When we rebuilt the new web app from scratch, we wanted to take the opportunity to also redesign the user interface—with the goal of significantly simplifying it. Therefore, some elements in the new web app now have different names and can be found in a different place than before. The following table gives you an overview of the changes:
|Changed element||Change in the new web app|
|Icon for data rooms||Data rooms are now identified by a folder icon sporting a DRACOON logo:
|Name for shares||
|Location of the list of all existing shares||The list of all existing shares can now be found in the left side panel under Shares.|
|Location of the number of existing shares of a file||The number of existing shares of a file is now displayed in the right side panel after selecting the file. Example:
Tip: Click this information to display a list of the shares of the file.
|Location of the expiration date of a file||The expiration date of a file is now displayed in the right side panel after selecting the file.|
|Location of the File preview command (for images)||The file preview (now called detail view) is now displayed after clicking a file name and now fills the entire browser window. Clicking a file name no longer downloads a file, but always opens the detail view.|
|Location of enlarged thumbnail (previously displayed when pointing to a thumbnail of images and PDF files)
||The enlarged thumbnail for images and PDF files is now displayed at the bottom of the right sidebar (after selecting the file).|
|Location of the Edit file command (rename, change classification or expiration date, for example)||After selecting a file, its file name, classification, expiration date, and annotation are displayed in the right side panel and can be changed there directly.|
|Location of the Download Zip command||If multiple files are selected, a bundled zip download is automatically initiated after clicking Download in the right side panel.|
|Location of the Create new folder command||The New folder command can be found in the right sidebar—but only if no file is currently selected. If a file is selected, first remove the checkmark in front of the file to make the New folder command visible.|
|Location of the recycle bin and previous file versions||At the right of the path navigation bar, click the three-dots button, and a menu will appear that contains the Recycle bin command at the bottom:
|Location of the Connect as drive command||At the right of the path navigation bar, click the three-dots button, and a menu will appear that contains the Copy WebDAV path command.|
|Location of the Show permissions command (with which a user of a data room can look up all other users in the room and their permissions.)||At the right of the path navigation bar, click the three-dots button, and a menu will appear that contains the Permissions command.|
|Location of the Manage data rooms command||At the right of the path navigation bar, click the three-dots button, and a menu will appear that contains the Display all data rooms command.
The list of managed data rooms is no longer a separate one, but part of the regular room/folder/file list. If you have enabled Display all data rooms, those data rooms that you are only allowed to manage but cannot use yourself are displayed as part of the general room/folder/file list—but dimmed to distinguish them from your regular, usable rooms.
|Location of user management||User management can now be found in the left side panel under Settings.|
|Location of assigning user permissions to a data room||
In the new web app, user permissions for a data room are only assigned from within the room (which was already possible before), but no longer in user management (after all, changing room permissions is the task of the room administrator, not the general user manager).
|Location of assigning user roles (e.g. the "Auditor" role)||
|Location of group management||Group management can now be found in the left side panel under Settings > Groups.|
|Location of the system log||The system log has been removed from the new web app because it already is available in the Reporting Tool (reporting.dracoon.com).|
|Location of displaying used user accounts, total occupied storage space, and total number of all rooms/folders/files (previously on the Dashboard)||The numbers of already consumed user accounts and occupied storage space are now displayed at the bottom of the left side panel after clicking Settings:
The total number of files, folders, and data rooms is displayed in the Reporting Tool (reporting.dracoon.com).
|Location of the system settings||In the left side panel, click Settings. The former system settings sections are now listed for instant access in the left side panel under Configuration:
After careful consideration, we did not include the following features in the new web app anymore:
- Dashboard: The dashboard was helpful at most when using DRACOON the very first time, but was later often perceived as superfluous and even annoying, especially for regular users (non-administrators). The statistics displayed on the dashboard can now be found in the Reporting Tool.
- News & Downloads: This area has been removed because it has not been used by most end users and because outdated information was displayed in many environments (e.g. download links to old client versions). News & Downloads about DRACOON are now available—always up-to-date—on the DRACOON support page (support.dracoon.com), which can be reached via the Help command, for example.
- Start data room for users: Due to the changed rights concept since version 4 of DRACOON, this setting no longer made sense. In the future, users will be able to determine which data room to open first after signing in themselves.
- "Notify" button: You could use this button in the previous web app to inform other users of the data room about certain files. This feature will be replaced in the future by an automatic notification feature, e.g. for file changes, which will make manual notifications obsolete.
- Mandatory password when sharing files classified as "Confidential": The behavior when sharing files classified as "Confidential" has been aligned with that of the other DRACOON clients: Sharing such files in the new web app is also possible without password protection by default (of course a password protection can still be specified if required, but it is no longer mandatory).