DRACOON for Outlook version 5.2 or later
With the My shares dialog box, you can check the status of your active download and upload shares, and if necessary, withdraw and delete them at any time.
In addition, you can copy the public share links to the clipboard to later forward them to other persons for use, for example.
- In the Outlook ribbon, in the DRACOON group, click Options, and then click My shares.
- Under the Download shares tab, you can see all your download shares that users can currently use to download the files that you shared.
Under the Upload shares tab, all data rooms and folders in DRACOON are listed that you have approved for upload and in which users are allowed to upload files.
- The Expiration date column indicates the last day on which download/upload will be possible. When the expiration date expires, the share is automatically removed.
- In the Downloads or Uploads column, you can see how many times the file has already been downloaded via this share or how many files have already been uploaded. If the number of possible downloads or uploads is limited by this share, this will also be displayed. Example: 2/10 downloads means that the file can be downloaded a maximum of 10 times and 2 of these downloads have already been consumed.
- The Password columns specifies whether a password is required for download or upload.
The share is password protected.
The share concerns an encrypted data room and is therefore automatically password protected (download shares in encrypted data rooms must always be password protected; this is not required for upload shares).
Click to the left next to an entry (or double-click an entry) to see more details about sharing, such as the exact location of the shared file in DRACOON.
Copy share links for forwarding
It may often happen that you want to allow others to use an existing share. To do so, you must provide the persons with the public share link that they can use to call up the share in their browser.
- Select the element whose share link you want to copy. You can also select multiple elements by pressing and holding the
Ctrlkey and clicking on the desired elements in order.
- Click the Copy share link button.
- The share link is copied to the clipboard and can be sent to the recipient via email or chat message, for example. In the destination application, press
Vto paste the copied share link.
Pay attention to the Password column when forwarding share links.
The icons or in the column indicate that this share is password protected. In this case, it is not enough just to forward the share link – you must also tell the recipient the password of the share so that they can use the share.
For security reasons, the password can not be retrieved later. If you have forgotten the password, you have to create a new share.
If you are currently composing an email and open the My shares dialog box, the Insert in email button, which allows you to insert the share link directly into the email, appears instead of Copy share link.
Withdraw and delete shares
If you want to prevent a currently active share from being used, you can withdraw and delete it. A file shared for download can then, for example, no longer be downloaded via the share link.
- Select the share you want to delete. You can also select multiple shares by pressing and holding the
Ctrlkey and clicking the desired shares in order.
- Click the Delete share button.
- Confirm the security prompt.
- The selected shares are permanently deleted.
If you delete a share, the shared item itself is not deleted. A shared file can then no longer be downloaded via the share, but remains stored in DRACOON and can be shared again later. You would then create a new share link – a share link that has been deleted cannot be reused.